Call for Participation
Dear UCGIS colleagues,

The First International Conferenceon Space, Time, and CyberGIS (CyberGIS'12: will take place on the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and provide a forum for sharing cutting-edge research, education and training experiences ranging from new theories, methods, and applications of CyberGIS and Space-Time Analysis/Modeling/Synthesis, to related industrial relations and partnerships, and international collaborations.

The current draft of the conference program agenda is available at: We invite submissions of abstracts (no more than 250 words) addressing new theories, methods, and applications of CyberGIS and Space-Time Analysis/Modeling/Synthesis. The first author should also submit a 2-page resume/biosketch. Submissions are to be made via the online EasyChair system at: on or before the deadline (July 9th, 2012). Contributors of accepted abstracts will be invited to present their work at the poster session of the international research symposium.

It is anticipated that this inaugural conference will be highly visible and very fruitful in the midst of exciting time for the future of synergizing cyberinfrastructure, geographic information science, and space-time studies. Multiple federal agencies and industrial partners will participate or sponsor the conference. Dr. Daniel E. Atkins who was the first Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) Office of Cyberinfrastructure and chaired the NSF blue-ribbon advisory panel for the influential cyberinfrastructure report (2003) will give the conference keynote address on the morning of August 8, 2012.

We look forward to a very stimulating and productive conference!

Honorary Chair: Mike Goodchild, University of California, Santa Barbara

Chair: Shaowen Wang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Co-Chair: Tim Nyerges, University of Washington, Seattle