November 2, 2010 - San Jose, CA  

Important Dates

  • Full Paper Submission
  • Aug. 16, 2010 (11:59 PM CDT) -- EXTENDED
  • Notification of Acceptance
  • Sept. 3, 2010
  • Camera-Ready Copy
  • Sept. 8, 2010
  • Workshop Date
  • Nov. 2, 2010


HPDGIS'10 will be held in conjunction with The 18th ACM SIGSPATIAL International Conference on Advances in Geographic Information Systems (ACM SIGSPATIAL GIS 2010). Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings and the ACM digital library.

Aim and Scope

High performance computing and distributed systems have become prominent elements in the landscape of computing and information technologies. High performance and distributed GIS (HPDGIS) have emerged as a growing area of theoretical and applied research. This growth is driven by geospatial problems in numerous fields that are increasingly computationally intensive. Efficient handling of massive spatial databases, shared and role-based access to distributed data, and high end computing services are fundamental to the near-real-time response times required for many GIS and associated decision support applications. The initial feasibility and tremendous potential of HPDGIS have recently been demonstrated by exploiting rapidly developing cyberinfrastructure capabilities. It is now important to bring together researchers and practitioners to map out fundamental research areas centered on HPDGIS and its tight connections to advances in high performance computing, distributed systems, and associated GIS and spatial analysis applications. The objective of this international workshop is to provide an overarching forum in which participants will discuss the state-of-the-art, share the newest research and development activities, and establish future directions for research in HPDGIS.

Contact Information

For enquiries and further information, please contact

Shaowen Wang ( [javascript protected email address] )
Nancy Wilkins-Diehr ( [javascript protected email address] )
Xuan Shi ( [javascript protected email address] )
Ranga Raju Vatsavai ( [javascript protected email address] )
Jianting Zhang ( [javascript protected email address] )
Anand Padmanabhan ( [javascript protected email address] )